Slice of Life Day 10: Writer’s Block/ Picture Day

download

Today I didn’t know what to write about. So I opened up Shutterfly, closed my eyes and randomly chose an album. Then I closed my eyes and randomly chose a picture. And this is what I chose; a picture of my family at my family reunion last summer. What luck! This picture makes me very happy. It was a good hair day, first of all! And secondly, the light shining on us reflects the happiness of that moment.  I love to take pictures (not necessarily be in them); it is a role I serve in my family. Usually I get lots of eye rolls and “Seriously”s. But then, months later, I get the, “Do you remember the pictures from____. Can you send it to me?”  I like to take pictures because I have an increasingly bad memory. And I like to remember the good pictures as well as the not so good, which is why I am happy that I landed on a good one; because they are all up on Shutterfly. Unless of course it is a particularly bad picture of ME, then there is a likelihood that it will get edited out, HA!

I used to never want to be in pictures, but then I realized that I am who I am in that moment. Fat, Gray, whatever. And I want my kids to remember all of me when I am gone someday. The Shitty First Draft (Lamott), so to speak. The work in progress; the silly, fun, goofy; all of it. But it is nice, when a moment is captured in the light of how I would like to be remembered, and this picture was a great reflection of that!

3 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 10: Writer’s Block/ Picture Day

  1. What a great idea for writer’s block! I didn’t post yesterday because I just had nothing to say. Your post gives a useful suggestion for that kind of day. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  2. I agree with Jennifer. I just might have to try this idea some time this month. I can relate that I, too, seem to be the photographer in my family…that is until I married Ray…and he is a bit more than I. And, I find it kind of a relief sometimes as I can sit back and relax sometimes. It is cool that the picture that chose you…was a happy one for you….everyone smiling and looking happy.

    Like

Leave a comment