Slice of Life Day 8: Process versus Product

After a long day yesterday including Build Day at the high school from 9-4 and then a 3 hour round trip drive (plus 2 hours at the show) to take Hailey and some friends to see their director’s former high school production, I am thinking about the process of creating a show versus the product that is seen on stage.

Before I became involved in theater through Hailey, I knew intellectually that lots of work went into every production we see on stage. But watching the many, many, MANY, hours that go into designing and constructing wardrobe (in our case),  and set, and props, lighting and sound make me view the finished product through a new and ever appreciative lense. I am sure I will never watch a show through the same lense again. So much of the tech work goes mostly unnoticed (of course), but so many hours go into making a seam just right, or the hem to be the right length, choosing the exact color fabric. All of these small and time consuming details make the finish product so much better.

Of course, I can’t forget the actors, and the many, many, MANY rehearsals and takes and tweaks they go through to stay in character and bring out just the right presentation in their acting.  Let alone the guts the kids have to “put themselves out there” in front of a large (or sometimes disappointingly small) audience.

Whether the final performance is worthy of a Cappies (high school Tony’s) nomination, or one that falls flat on a particular evening, the PROCESS of creating an entire show is where the real success is. We try to teach our kids that life is not all about winning, but I think in our society we sometimes say this out of both sides of our mouths. It is great to win, don’t get me wrong; but the true winning comes through the blood, sweat and tears that happen through the process of creating a wonderful product.  I am so proud of the kids for their blood, sweat and tears as they are forming Beauty and the Beast into the best production it can be!

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 8: Process versus Product

  1. Sounds like an amazing production. I agree, it is about the process. A nice product is the cherry on the pie. But it is about the process. Wouldn’t it be neat if after such productions a large screen came down and showed some of the behind the scenes and bloopers? That may help guide audience to see that work which helps those with no clue appreciate all that went into it.

    Like

    1. Mary, I love that idea! We do a picture gallery for people to see as they are waiting in line, but I love the idea of a movie at the end, especially closing night! I am going to suggest this to the teacher and kids in charge of advertising.

      Like

  2. Love your celebration of the process! When I talk about writing at school, I am always encouraging teachers to celebrate the writing process and not put so much effort only on the finished product. There are so many parts that create that final piece, each should be celebrated. Just as in writing, there are so many other parts to the process of putting on a production that deserve celebration. How wonderful for you daughter that you recognize this!

    Like

  3. Schema is critical to understanding and appreciating the process of whatever. Too bad more don’t realize what it takes to put on a show.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed reading this. You are one dedicated drama mama! Sounds like a very long day. I did theatre in high school, majored in it in college, and worked in professional theatre for a year. I did pretty much everything there is to do at one time or another. You are so right about the technical aspects going unappreciated. People only seem to notice them if they are a spectacle or if something goes wrong, but they are critical to the overall success of the show. At the high school nearest to the one I attended, the teacher/director always had his actors gesture to the booth during curtain call, the way they would gesture to the orchestra after a musical. I always thought this was a nice touch.

    Like

  5. I like how you are thinking about the process of creating the show. My sister was in Fame a couple of months ago and she put a lot of hard work in it. I like your slice.

    Like

Leave a comment